Bach Echoes

A Hybrid Variation set on the A minor Flute Partita by J.S. Bach for Grand Vibraphone or Marimba, 2017

A four movement work:

  1. Allemande

  2. Corrente

  3. Sarabande

  4. Bourée Angloise

Duration: 18′

Publisher: Rassel Editions, NY

Commissioned by the legendary Japanese marimbist Makoto Nakura, Bach Echoes is a hybrid set of variations on the solo Flute Partita in A minor by J.S. Bach BWV 1013. Lasser writes: “Bach’s musical world has long been for me the best arena to explore compositional structure and meaning. In this piece, I composed responses to the Bach music by writing music which replaces the repeats that would normally be done in the traditional Partita. In that way, I reply to Bach delving into his own motivic material and brining it into my language, thereby creating a hybrid work with echoes which interlace with Bach’s music and create a new work from it.